Another win for Whalers towards South Division Championship

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Niagara Whalers have taken game three of the South Division Championship series with a 10 – 1 win over the St. George Ravens Sunday Mar. 12 in Port Colborne.

Game four of the best-of-seven series is set to go Tuesday Mar. 14 in St. George.

David Christopher led off the Whalers scoring at 1:28 in the first period with assists going to Zack Lansfield and Matt Hore. Brandon Cercone netted their second goal at 2:51, assisted by Kellan Rosenbaum and Tyler Hore. Matt Hore gave them the 3 – 0 lead that took them to the end of the period with the assist going to Manny Manns.

Niagara scored three more goals in the second period to St. George’s one.

Tyler Jackson led off the Niagara attack with his goal at 6:43, assisted by Paolo Sivilotti and David Christopher. Then David Christopher connected for a goal at 10:49, assisted by Zack Lansfield and Brandon Cercone. Christopher scored again, getting his hat trick goal at 14:59, with Lansfield assisting as well as Tyler Hore.

Scott Dorion of the Ravens put them on the scoreboard at 18:49, the assist went to Tyler Hill.

Leading 6 – 1 going into the third period, the Whalers added four more goals to their total in the third period.

Blake Luscombe led off the third period scoring at 0:59 with assists going to Matt Hore and Manny Manns. Brandon Cercone scored his second goal of the night at 5:03, assists went to Manny Manns and Matt Hore. Jacob Thomason added the Whalers ninth goal at 12:34 with assists going to Zack Lansfield and Kellan Rosenbaum. The Whalers tenth goal and his hat trick goal came from Brandon Cercone on the power play at 14:48, assists went to Manny Manns and Blake Luscombe.

The three stars of the game from the Niagara Whalers were:

  • Star #1: David Christopher with three goals and one assist.
  • Star #2: Brandon Cercone with three goals and one assist.
  • Star #3: Matt Hore with one goal and three assists.

The Niagara Whalers are now leading the best-of-seven series 3 – 0 over the St. George Ravens.

The winner of the series will go on to the Russell Cup, facing the winners of the North Division Championship series between the New Tecumseh Civics and the Parry Sound Islanders. Parry Sound is leading that series 3 – 1.



Help Erie Media stay online with a voluntary subscription

Subscription Options