Armstrong, Lunger, Fontaine, Tomaski and Haynes Collect Humberstone Checkers

IMG_7547PORT COLBORNE, ONTARIO (May 29, 2016)… Port Colborne, Ontario’s Jeff Armstrong was victorious for the time this season in the PC Works DIRTcar Sportsman on The Reeb House Night at the Humberstone Speedway. “The Keystone State Warrior” Dennis Lunger Jr from Albion, Pennsylvania picked up the win in the Pinty’s RUSH Late Models. Jason Fontaine from Port Colborne, Ontario won his second JC Auto Street Stock feature of the season. Kyle Tomaski from Dain City, Ontario picked up his first career win in the Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks. Kyle Haynes from Caledon, Ontario won the feature event for the Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks.

Rob Knapp and Joey Mastrioanni led the PC Works DIRTcar Sportsman with Mastrioanni showing the way with Jeff Armstrong running in second. Brad Rouse worked his way into third early on as Justin Sharp and Cody McPherson raced in the top five on lap five. McPherson would pass Sharp to move into fourth on lap 11, just as the leaders hit lap traffic. Darrell Farraway came to a stop in turn four to bring out the races first caution on lap 14. The mid-race restart saw Mastrioanni and Armstrong on the front row with Rouse and McPherson in row two and it was Armstrong getting the jump on the restart, taking over the lead. McPherson would move into second on lap 15 as Rouse had issues off the restart. Armstrong would pull away from McPherson to pick up the win, his third career Sportsman triumph.

IMG_7510Ken Winfield and Mike Greene shared the front row for the 20 lap feature event for the Pinty’s RUSH Late Models with Winfield showing the way. John McIntire moving into second on lap one with Dennis Lunger in third. Lunger would take over the lead on lap five. Colton Ledingham moved into second after passing Winfield on lap nine. Ledingham would close in on Lunger in the late going. John McIntire and Travis Martineau spun in turn three to bring out the caution with four laps to go. Ken Winfield slowed in turn one to bring out the caution on lap 18 after suffering a flat left rear tire. Lunger would pull away to pick up the win. Pietz and Ledingham came together in turn three going for the checkers and Jeff Dayman was able to drive into second with Travis Martineau finishing in third.

IMG_7485Bill Bleich Jr and Brad Sheehan set the pace for the JC Auto Street Stocks feature event and it was Bleich showing the way early on. Sheehan, Dave Bailey and Jason Fontaine went three wide for second with Fontaine moving from fourth to second place on lap six. Rob Murray moved into third place and started to go after Fontaine for second as Bill Bleich Jr started to pull away at the halfway point. Bleich, Fontaine and Murray battled for the lead on lap 11 with Fontaine taking over the lead on lap 13. Bleich would catch Fontaine and the lead duo would battle in the last two laps but Fontaine was able to hold Bleich off in the caution free event to claim his second race of the season.

IMG_7438Jamie Ayers and Danny Wurster split pole sitter Nate Monahan early on in the feature event for the Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks. Wurster would clear Ayers at the end of lap two to take the lead. Kyle Tomaski would battle Wurster for the lead with Tomaski taking over the lead on lap seven. Emily Puchalski brought out the caution on lap ten. The restart would see Tomaski take off with Wurster challenging for the lead. Tomaski was able to hold off Taylor Vanderzanden in the late going to pick up his first win of the season. For Tomaski, it was his first triumph at Humberstone since August 4, 2013.

IMG_7456Teeple and Garnet Wilson led the Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks to the green flag and it was Wilson showing the way early. Cole Hardy came to a stop in turn two to bring out the caution on lap one. The early race restart would see Wilson and Kyle Haynes pull away with Brandon Iudiciani running in third. Haynes would take over the lead on lap four with Wilson falling back to second. Mike Sarantakos would bring out the caution on lap seven as he stopped in turn one. The mid-race restart would see Haynes back out front showing the way over Wilson with Iudiciani in third. Haynes would be able to pull away from Wilson to pick up the win, his first of the season.

NEWS AND NOTES: Young fan Nash was our Lucas Oil/Leslie Motorsports Jr Fan Member of the Week. Nash received a prize pack from Lucas Oil and said “the most famous words in Motorsports” as well as got the chance to ride in the Pace Car and get his picture taken with each of the feature winners. The Fast 5 Racing Program was completed at 8:55pm and 68 racecars signed in pitside.

Next Sunday, “the Winged Warriors with an Attitude”, the Southern Ontario Sprints will make their first of two visits on the season as Zanchin Truck & Trailer will present the racing program. The DIRTcar Sportsman, RUSH Late Models, Street Stocks, Pro 4 Trucks and Mini Stocks will also be on the card. Gates will swing open at 4:30pm with racing beginning at 6:30pm.

The Humberstone Speedway would like to thank all the new and returning Weekly Series Sponsors: PC Works (DIRTcar Sportsman), Pinty’s Delicious Foods (RUSH Late Models), J.C. Auto (Street Stocks), Mike Knapp Ford (Pro 4 Trucks), and the Cosco Haulage (Mini Stocks).

Humberstone Speedway is located just two miles East of Port Colborne on Highway 3, just 17 miles west of the US/Canadian Border at the Peace Bridge (Buffalo/Fort Erie). For more information, please visit us on the World Wide Web at as well as follow us on Twitter @NewHumberstone and like us on Facebook. Don’t forget to bring your portable FM radios and listen to all the action on 90.3FM. You can also call the speedway at (905) 834-4002 or the speedway office at Cosco Haulage (905) 935-2886

RACE REPORT: 5-29-16 The Reeb House Night at the Races

PC Works DIRTcar Sportsman: JEFF ARMSTRONG, Cody McPherson, Justin Sharp, Chad Chevalier, Joey Mastrioanni, Jay Mallory, Brad Rouse, Matt Sharpe, Dylan Davidson, Jordan Cosco, Rob Knapp, Austin Susice, Chris Storm, John Babion, Darrell Farraway, Tyler Puchalski, Tom Richau Jr,

Qualifying Winners: Brad Rouse, Joey Mastrioanni

Pinty’s RUSH Late Models: DENNIS LUNGER JR, Jeff Dayman, Travis Martineau, Tim Gillespie, Mike Greene, John McIntire, Kenny Winfield, Wyatt VanWart, Colton Ledinghm, Rob Pietz

Qualifying Winners: John McIntire, Rob Pietz

JC Auto Street Stocks: JASON FONTAINE,  Bill Bleich Jr, Rob Murray, Dave Bailey, Jim Lampman, Kyle Pelrine, Vince Fargnoli, Brad Sheehan, Bryce Richardson, Jason Lungaro, Ken Sargent, Andrew Reece, Derek VanMil

Qualifying Winners: Bill Bleich Jr, Vince Fargnoli

Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks: KYLE TOMASKI, Taylor Vanderzanden, Danny Wurster, Frank Perry, Dylan Llord, Craig Vlasic, Andy Imbeault, Jamie Ayers, Mitch Dumont, Emily Puchalski, Charles Hardy, Nathan Monohan, Greg Ayers

Qualifying Winners: Mitch Dumont, Kyle Tomaski

Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks: KYLE HAYNES, Garnet Wilson, Brandon Iudiciani, Olivier Larocque, Mike Sarantakos, Teeple, Kyle Miller, Evan Curtis, Cole Hardy

Qualifying Winner: Garnet Wilson