Big weekend for Humberstone checkered flag winners

IMG_1992PORT COLBORNE, ONTARIO (September 4, 2016) Third generation driver Brent Begolo from Thorold, Ontario was the winner of the PC Works DIRTcar Sportsman feature event at the Humberstone Speedway on Labor Day Weekend. With his second place finish, Brad Rouse of St. Catharines, Ontario earned the Sportsman divisional championship for the second time of his career. Rob Pietz from Gasline, Ontario scored his fifth victory of 2016 in the Pinty’s Delicious Foods RUSH Late Models.  Bill Bleich Jr from Port Robinson, Ontario won his fourth JC Auto Street Stocks feature of the year. Tony Kelly from Niagara Falls, Ontario won his second Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks feature of the season. Kyle Tomaski from Dain City, Ontario won his second Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks feature of the season. BJ Willard scored his second win of the season for the Vintage Cars.

IMG_0715Brent Begolo led from the drop of the green flag in the PC Works DIRTcar Sportsman main event. Tyler Puchalski raced in second with Joey Mastrioanni, Justin Sharp and Farraway in fifth. Begolo opened up his lead over Sharp with Rouse and McPherson working through the field. Rouse would take second and would go after Begolo for the lead. Begolo and Rouse battled for the lead for several laps in the final stages, including going three wide while splitting with lap traffic. Begolo held the bottom of the speedway, making Rouse to go to the outside to try and pass him for the lead. Begolo was able to hold off Rouse to score his first career Sportsman victory at Humberstone. Rouse finished in second to clinch the 2016 track championship.

IMG_0154John McIntire and Chad Homan brought the Pinty’s Delicious Foods RUSH Late Models to the green flag with Homan showing the way. Homan jumped into the lead and pulled away from Rob Pietz and Jeff Dayman with Paul Grigsby running in the top five. Homan and Pietz battled for the lead off a lap seven restart with Pietz taking over the lead on lap eight. Travis Martineau and Ken Winfield came together in turn four to bring out the caution on lap 14. Pietz and Homan went side by side for a pair of circuits off the restart before Pietz regained the lead. Pietz would pull away to score the victory.

IMG_0634Dave Bailey took the lead away from Bryce Richardson early in the JC Auto Street Stock feature event with Jason Fontaine and Billy Bleich Jr challenging for the lead. Bailey and Fontaine battled for several circuits with Bleich looking on from third. Marcel Michaud spun in turn two to bring out the caution on lap eight. Off the restart, Fontaine would take over the lead with Bailey and Bleich battling for second place. The trio would catch eachother and all make contact with Fontaine slowing in turn three to bring out the caution with five laps remaining. Off the restart, Bleich would hold off Bailey and Vince Fargnoli to score the victory.

IMG_0574Kyle Haynes took the early lead in the main event for the Cosco Haulage Mini Stock feature event. Jay Moulton, Tony Kelly battled for second and third early on. Kelly would take second away from Moulton on lap five and would go after race leader Haynes. Kelly would take the lead away before the halfway mark. Kelly pulled away to score his second win of the season.

IMG_0525Kyle Tomaski and Craig Vlasic shared the front row for the Mike Knapp Pro 4 Truck feature with Tomaski showing the way early. Tomaski and Vlasic pulled away from Frank Perry, Dylan Llord and Danny Wurster. Vlasic would catch Tomaski and the duo would battle for several laps for the race lead. In lap traffic, Vlasic lost the second spot to Frank Perry. Tomaski would pull away to score his second win of the season.

IMG_0594Mark Shadwell and Rick St Pierre left off where they did in qualifying, up front battling for the lead in the Vintage Car feature. Bill Profota spun in turn one to slow the field down for the first time. Off the restart, Shadwell, St Pierre and BJ Willard battled for the lead. Willard would take second away from St Pierre who had issues on the main straightaway on lap five. Willard would take the lead from Shadwell at the halfway mark, just before Shadwell had issues and slowed on the track on lap nine. Willard would open up his lead over the field in the late going and went on to pick up his second consecutive win for the Vintage Cars. Qualifying event wins went to Bill Profota and Mark Shadwell.

NEWS AND NOTES: Young race fan Clayton was Lucas Oil/Leslie Motorsports Jr Fan Members of the Week. Clayton received a prize pack from Lucas Oil and Leslie Motorsports. As part of being the Jr. Fan Member of the week, Clayton said “the most famous words in Motorsports” as well as got the chance to ride in the Pace Car and get picture taken with each of the feature winners in Epic Racewear Victory Lane! The Jr Fan of the Week can pick up their photos the following week at the souvenir stand courtesy of Soft Touch Images.

The month of September will continue with one of the biggest weekends of the season as Cosco Haulage presents the Trevor Wilkens Memorial for the Sportsman Super DIRTcar Series on Sunday September 11th. A full card of RUSH Late Models, Street Stocks, Pro 4 Trucks and Mini Stocks will also be on the card. Gates will open up at 4:30pm with racing getting underway at 6:30pm sharp.

The Humberstone Speedway would like to thank all the new and returning Weekly Series Sponsors: PC Works (DIRTcar Sportsman), Pinty’s Delicious Foods (RUSH Late Models), J.C. Auto (Street Stocks), Mike Knapp Ford (Pro 4 Trucks), and the Cosco Haulage (Mini Stocks).

Humberstone Speedway is located just two miles East of Port Colborne on Highway 3, just 17 miles west of the US/Canadian Border at the Peace Bridge (Buffalo/Fort Erie). For more information, please visit us on the World Wide Web at as well as follow us on Twitter @NewHumberstone and like us on Facebook. Don’t forget to bring your portable FM radios and listen to all the action on 90.3FM. You can also call the speedway at (905) 834-4002 or the speedway office at Cosco Haulage (905) 935-2886


PC Works DIRTcar Sportsman: BRENT BEGOLO, Brad Rouse, Justin Sharp, Chad Chevalier, Tyler Puchalski, Darrell Farraway, Joey Mastrioanni, Cody McPherson, Jordan Cosco, Jay Mallory, Rob Knapp, Luke Carleton, Dylan Davidson, Matt Sharpe, Jeff Armstrong, Tom Richau Jr, Adam Leslie, Charlie Lynch, Pat Sonnenberg, Chris Bellamy, Chris Storm, Rob Goulding, Emily Puchalski, Brian Page, John Babion

Qualifying Winners: Adam Leslie, Joey Mastrioanni, Jordan Cosco

Pinty’s Delicious Foods RUSH Late Models: ROB PIETZ, Chad Homan, Paul Grigsby, Dennis Lunger Jr, Jeff Dayman, Ken Winfield, Travis Martineau, John McIntire, Jason Tingue, Wyatt VanWart, Tim Gillespie

Qualifying Winners: Jeff Dayman, Tim Gillespie

JC Auto Street Stocks: BILL BLEICH JR, Dave Bailey, Vince Fargnoli, Rob Murray, Kyle Pelrine, Ryan Dinning, Luke Skywalker, Brad Sheehan, Jason Lungaro, Bryce Richardson, Rob Disher, Barry Beck Jr, Paul Reichel, Marcel Michaud, Jason Fontaine, Derek VanMil

Qualifying Winners: Bill Bleich Jr, Dave Bailey

Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks: TONY KELLY, Kyle Haynes, Jay Moulton, Mark Bizuin, Olivier Larocque, Evan Curtis, Tom Neale, Garnet Wilson, Brian Crosgrove, Mike Sarantakos, Teeple, Sam Iftody, Kourtney Kocarik, John Lubek, Jason Blais, Lorenzo Mazzuca, Brandon Iudiciani, Rob Sauder, Ken Lovegrove, Cole Taylor, Tim Nuell, Cole Hardy, Clinton Nicholls

Qualifying Winners:  Tony Kelly, Kyle Haynes, Garnet Wilson

Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks: KYLE TOMASKI, Frank Perry, Craig Vlasic, Dylan Llord, Danny Wurster, Mike Toovey, Andy Imbeault, Terry Ronning, Mitch Dumont, Kevin Conley, Jaime Ayers, Taylor Vanderzanden, Stephanie Ayers, Emily Puchalski

Qualifying Winners: Kyle Tomaski, Frank Perry